Calgary Public Library

To best the boys., Mary Weber - (electronic bk)

Summary
Perfect for fans of The Scorpio Races and Caraval, To Best the Boys is a new fantasy novel from the beloved and bestselling author of the Storm Siren trilogy, Mary Weber."To Best the Boys is an addicting read." —JODI MEADOWS, New York Times bestselling author of The Incarnate Trilogy and coauthor of My Lady JaneThe task is simple:Don a disguise.Survive the labyrinth.Best the boys.In a thrilling new fantasy from the bestselling author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, one girl makes a stand against society and enters a world made exclusively for boys.Every year for the past fifty-four years, the residents of Pinsbury Port have received a mysterious letter inviting all eligible-aged boys to compete for an esteemed scholarship to the all-male Stemwick University. The poorer residents look to see if their names are on the list. The wealthier look to see how likely their sons are to survive. And Rhen Tellur opens it to see if she can derive which substances the ink and parchment are created from, using her father's microscope.In the province of Caldon, where women train in wifely duties and men pursue collegiate education, sixteen-year-old Rhen Tellur wants nothing more than to become a scientist. As the poor of her seaside town fall prey to a deadly disease, she and her father work desperately to find a cure. But when her mum succumbs to it as well? Rhen decides to take the future into her own hands—through the annual all-male scholarship competition.With her cousin, Seleni, by her side, the girls don disguises and enter Mr. Holm's labyrinth, to best the boys and claim the scholarship prize. Except not everyone is ready for a girl who doesn't know her place. And not everyone survives the deadly maze.Welcome to the labyrinth."Atmospheric, romantic, inspiring." —KRISTEN CICCARELLI, internationally bestselling author of The Last Namsara
Language
eng
Literary Form
fiction
Provider
Physical Description
1 online resource
Specific Material Designation
remote
Form Of Item
electronic
Isbn
9780718080976

Library Locations

  • Signal Hill Library

    5994 Signal Hill Centre SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3H 3P8, CA
    Borrow
  • Central Library

    616 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2G 2M2, CA
    Borrow
  • Bowness Library

    6532 Bowness Road NW, Calgary, Alberta, T3B OE9, CA
    Borrow
  • Shawnessy Library

    333 Shawville Blvd. SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2Y 4H3, CA
    Borrow
  • Louise Riley Library

    1904 14th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta, T2N 1M5, CA
    Borrow
  • Southwood Library

    924 Southland Drive SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2W 0J9, CA
    Borrow
  • Village Square Library

    2623 56th Street NE, Calgary, Alberta, T1Y 6E7, CA
    Borrow
  • Country Hills Library

    11950 Country Village Link NE, Calgary, Alberta, T3K 6E3, CA
    Borrow
  • Nose Hill Library

    1530 Northmount Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta, T2L 0G6, CA
    Borrow
  • Shaganappi Library

    3415 8th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3C 0E8, CA
    Borrow
  • Crowfoot Library

    8665 Nose Hill Drive, Calgary, Alberta, T3G 5T3, CA
    Borrow
  • Forest Lawn Library

    4807 8th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2A 4M1, CA
    Borrow
  • Giuffre Family Library

    3223 14th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2T 3V8, CA
    Borrow
  • Judith Umbach Library

    6617 Centre Street North, Calgary, Alberta, T2K 4Y5, CA
    Borrow
  • Saddletowne Library

    7556 Falconridge Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta, T3J 0C9, CA
    Borrow
  • Memorial Park Library

    1221 2nd Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2R 0W5, CA
    Borrow
  • Glenmore Square Library

    7740 18th Street SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2C 2N5, CA
    Borrow
  • Fish Creek Library

    11161 Bonaventure Drive SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2J 6S1, CA
    Borrow
  • Calgary Public Library Mobile

    CA
    Borrow