Calgary Public Library

Firekeeper's daughter., Angeline Boulley - (electronic bk)

Summary
Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground. "One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels." -Good Morning America A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection For readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter , is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community. Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi's hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug. Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims. Now, as the deceptions-and deaths-keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she's ever known
Language
eng
Literary Form
fiction
Provider
Physical Description
1 online resource
Specific Material Designation
remote
Form Of Item
electronic
Isbn
9781250766571

Library Locations

  • Bowness Library

    6532 Bowness Road NW, Calgary, Alberta, T3B OE9, CA
    Borrow
  • Shawnessy Library

    333 Shawville Blvd. SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2Y 4H3, CA
    Borrow
  • Glenmore Square Library

    7740 18th Street SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2C 2N5, CA
    Borrow
  • Southwood Library

    924 Southland Drive SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2W 0J9, CA
    Borrow
  • Louise Riley Library

    1904 14th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta, T2N 1M5, CA
    Borrow
  • Forest Lawn Library

    4807 8th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2A 4M1, CA
    Borrow
  • Country Hills Library

    11950 Country Village Link NE, Calgary, Alberta, T3K 6E3, CA
    Borrow
  • Fish Creek Library

    11161 Bonaventure Drive SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2J 6S1, CA
    Borrow
  • Memorial Park Library

    1221 2nd Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2R 0W5, CA
    Borrow
  • Signal Hill Library

    5994 Signal Hill Centre SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3H 3P8, CA
    Borrow
  • Judith Umbach Library

    6617 Centre Street North, Calgary, Alberta, T2K 4Y5, CA
    Borrow
  • Central Library

    616 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2G 2M2, CA
    Borrow
  • Calgary Public Library Mobile

    CA
    Borrow
  • Crowfoot Library

    8665 Nose Hill Drive, Calgary, Alberta, T3G 5T3, CA
    Borrow
  • Village Square Library

    2623 56th Street NE, Calgary, Alberta, T1Y 6E7, CA
    Borrow
  • Shaganappi Library

    3415 8th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3C 0E8, CA
    Borrow
  • Giuffre Family Library

    3223 14th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2T 3V8, CA
    Borrow
  • Nose Hill Library

    1530 Northmount Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta, T2L 0G6, CA
    Borrow
  • Saddletowne Library

    7556 Falconridge Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta, T3J 0C9, CA
    Borrow