The Resource The bear and the nightingale : a novel, Katherine Arden

The bear and the nightingale : a novel, Katherine Arden

Label
The bear and the nightingale : a novel
Title
The bear and the nightingale
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Katherine Arden
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern'sThe Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales. Advance praise for The Bear and the Nightingale "An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale. A Russian setting adds unfamiliar spice to the story of a young woman who does not rebel against the limits of her role in her culture so much as transcend them. The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic."--Robin Hobb, bestselling author of the Fitz and the Fool trilogy "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted"--
  • "In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Arden, Katherine
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3601.R42
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Young women
  • Villages
  • Good and evil
  • Spirits
  • Magic
  • Russia
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Good and evil
  • Magic
  • Spirits
  • Villages
  • Young women
  • Russia
  • Fiction
  • Fantasy
  • Literature
  • FICTION / General
Label
The bear and the nightingale : a novel, Katherine Arden
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn949760341
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781101885949
Lccn
2016022241
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
69ABCB0D-5121-4F9F-B822-A101E0BB9430
System control number
(OCoLC)949760341
Label
The bear and the nightingale : a novel, Katherine Arden
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn949760341
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781101885949
Lccn
2016022241
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
69ABCB0D-5121-4F9F-B822-A101E0BB9430
System control number
(OCoLC)949760341

Library Locations

  • Bowness LibraryBorrow it
    6532 Bowness Road NW, Calgary, Alberta, T3B OE9, CA
    51.0889698 -114.2011763
  • Calgary Public Library MobileBorrow it
    CA
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    616 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2G 2M2, CA
    51.046473 -114.057859
  • Country Hills LibraryBorrow it
    11950 Country Village Link NE, Calgary, Alberta, T3K 6E3, CA
    51.160139 -114.0676844
  • Crowfoot LibraryBorrow it
    8665 Nose Hill Drive, Calgary, Alberta, T3G 5T3, CA
    51.129458 -114.193826
  • Fish Creek LibraryBorrow it
    11161 Bonaventure Drive SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2J 6S1, CA
    50.951870 -114.061042
  • Forest Lawn LibraryBorrow it
    4807 8th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2A 4M1, CA
    51.0451596 -113.9657157
  • Giuffre Family LibraryBorrow it
    3223 14th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2T 3V8, CA
    51.024526 -114.0947351
  • Glenmore Square LibraryBorrow it
    7740 18th Street SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2C 2N5, CA
    50.9833577 -114.0146572
  • Judith Umbach LibraryBorrow it
    6617 Centre Street North, Calgary, Alberta, T2K 4Y5, CA
    51.1113839 -114.0626328
  • Louise Riley LibraryBorrow it
    1904 14th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta, T2N 1M5, CA
    51.0652117 -114.105152
  • Memorial Park LibraryBorrow it
    1221 2nd Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2R 0W5, CA
    51.041549 -114.0682554
  • Nose Hill LibraryBorrow it
    1530 Northmount Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta, T2L 0G6, CA
    51.096103 -114.13759
  • Saddletowne LibraryBorrow it
    7556 Falconridge Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta, T3J 0C9, CA
    51.1212759 -113.9469193
  • Shaganappi LibraryBorrow it
    3415 8th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3C 0E8, CA
    51.0448674 -114.1367083
  • Shawnessy LibraryBorrow it
    333 Shawville Blvd. SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2Y 4H3, CA
    50.898545 -114.062885
  • Signal Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5994 Signal Hill Centre SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3H 3P8, CA
    51.0180759 -114.1755888
  • Southwood LibraryBorrow it
    924 Southland Drive SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2W 0J9, CA
    50.963642 -114.0858663
  • Village Square LibraryBorrow it
    2623 56th Street NE, Calgary, Alberta, T1Y 6E7, CA
    51.0755508 -113.9526426
Processing Feedback ...