The Resource Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit, (electronic resource)

Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit, (electronic resource)

Label
Anna and the Swallow Man
Title
Anna and the Swallow Man
Statement of responsibility
Gavriel Savit
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief. Krak?w, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna's father--she knows that very well--but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities
Cataloging source
B@L
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Savit, Gavriel
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
LC call number
PZ7.1.S28
LC item number
An 2016eb
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Historical Fiction
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Survival
  • Poland
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Survival
  • Poland
Label
Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
This is an OverDrive title
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn933510578
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780553522075
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
D0632D74-A07D-4F73-8DD4-F2667A48FC0F
System control number
(OCoLC)933510578
Label
Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Note
This is an OverDrive title
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn933510578
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780553522075
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
D0632D74-A07D-4F73-8DD4-F2667A48FC0F
System control number
(OCoLC)933510578

Library Locations

  • Calgary Alexander Calhoun LibraryBorrow it
    3223 14th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2T 3V8, CA
    51.024526 -114.0947351
  • Calgary Bowness LibraryBorrow it
    6532 Bowness Road NW, Calgary, Alberta, T3B OE9, CA
    51.0889698 -114.2011763
  • Calgary Central LibraryBorrow it
    616 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2G 2M2, CA
    51.046473 -114.057859
  • Calgary Country Hills LibraryBorrow it
    11950 Country Village Link NE, Calgary, Alberta, T3K 6E3, CA
    51.160139 -114.0676844
  • Calgary Crowfoot LibraryBorrow it
    8665 Nose Hill Drive, Calgary, Alberta, T3G 5T3, CA
    51.129458 -114.193826
  • Calgary Fish Creek LibraryBorrow it
    11161 Bonaventure Drive SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2J 6S1, CA
    50.951870 -114.061042
  • Calgary Forest Lawn LibraryBorrow it
    4807 8th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2A 4M1, CA
    51.0451596 -113.9657157
  • Calgary Glenmore Square LibraryBorrow it
    7740 18th Street SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2C 2N5, CA
    50.9833577 -114.0146572
  • Calgary Judith Umbach LibraryBorrow it
    6617 Centre Street North, Calgary, Alberta, T2K 4Y5, CA
    51.1113839 -114.0626328
  • Calgary Louise Riley LibraryBorrow it
    1904 14th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta, T2N 1M5, CA
    51.0652117 -114.105152
  • Calgary Memorial Park LibraryBorrow it
    1221 2nd Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2R 0W5, CA
    51.041549 -114.0682554
  • Calgary MobileBorrow it
    CA
  • Calgary Nose Hill LibraryBorrow it
    1530 Northmount Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta, T2L 0G6, CA
    51.096103 -114.13759
  • Calgary Saddletowne LibraryBorrow it
    7556 Falconridge Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta, T3J 0C9, CA
    51.1212759 -113.9469193
  • Calgary Shaganappi LibraryBorrow it
    3415 8th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3C 0E8, CA
    51.0448674 -114.1367083
  • Calgary Shawnessy LibraryBorrow it
    333 Shawville Blvd. SE, Calgary, Alberta, T2Y 4H3, CA
    50.898545 -114.062885
  • Calgary Signal Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5994 Signal Hill Centre SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3H 3P8, CA
    51.0180759 -114.1755888
  • Calgary Southwood LibraryBorrow it
    924 Southland Drive SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2W 0J9, CA
    50.963642 -114.0858663
  • Calgary Village Square LibraryBorrow it
    2623 56th Street NE,, Calgary, Alberta, T1Y 6E7, CA
    51.0755508 -113.9526426
Processing Feedback ...